1. Local

The Green Bay Packers

A Profile of the Green Bay Packers National Football Team


The Green Bay Packers
Jonathan Daniel / Getty Images Sport

The Green Bay Packers are a National League Football team that plays in Green Bay, Wisconsin. The Packers are part of the North division of the National Football Conference, along with the Chicago Bears, Detroit Lions and Minnesota Vikings.

Watching a Green Bay Packers Game

To catch a Packer game live, simply don your cheesehead and head north. The Packers' home stadium is Lambeau Field, located at 1265 Lombardi Ave., Green Bay, about 100 miles from Milwaukee, or a two-hour drive. Lambeau Field seats 60,890 -- more than half the number of people that actually live in the city of Green Bay, which according to the 2010 census has a population just over 104,000.

Fans can listen to Packers games on the radio at AM 620-WTMJ, or watch them on television on WTMJ-4 (pre-season and most regular-season games) and WISN-12 (ESPN Monday Night Football games).

Green Bay Packers Championship History

The Green Bay Packers have won more football championships than any other team in NFL history, with 13 games. The first three of these games were decided by league standing (in 1929, 1930 and 1931), and the next 10 (in 1936, 1939, 1944, 1961, 1962, 1965, 1966, 1967, 1996 and 2010) through the NFL playoff system, which was established in 1933. Green Bay also is the only NFL team to win three straight titles, which they have done twice.

The Packers have also had five Super Bowl appearances, of which they have won 4.

Super Bowl I, 1967 vs. Kansas City Chiefs - Win
Super Bowl II, 1968 vs. Oakland Raiders - Win
Super Bowl XXXI, 1997 vs. New England Patriots - Win
Super Bowl XXXII, 1998 vs. Denver Broncos - Loss
Super Bowl XLV, 2011 vs. Pittsburgh Steelers - Win

Green Bay Packers Leadership

Chairman, CEO & President: Mark Murphy
General Manager: Ted Thompson
Head Coach: Mike McCarthy

Green Bay Packer History

The Green Bay Packers were founded in 1919, during meetings in editorial room of Green Bay Press-Gazette. In 1921, they became a professional team when they joined the American Professional Football Association, which would become the NFL in 1922. In 1923, the Green Bay Football Corporation was formed, an operation which continues to run the franchise to this day. This corporation is unusual, in that the team is actually owned by a total of 112,158 stockholders that collectively own 4,750,937 shares. The Packers are the only community-owned franchise in American professional sports major leagues

Famous Green Bay Packers Players

Aaron Rodgers - Green Bay's starting quarterback since 2008, Rodgers led the Green Bay Packers to win Super Bowl XLV and was named Super Bowl MVP.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.